Première Pictures


Milton Keynes Theatre

23 January 2009


Hugh Wood (c) Clive Barda


Humperdinck     Hansel and Gretel: Prelude

Wood                Violin Concerto (World Premiere)

Mussorgsky      Pictures at an Exhibition (arr Ravel)


“This concert represents a very special occasion for Milton Keynes City Orchestra as we present the world premiere of Hugh Wood’s Violin Concerto.

Written for the soloist Alexandra Wood (who played the Tchaikovsky Concerto with me in my very first concert with the Orchestra), the work has a wonderfully lyrical style with a light, clear finale and lots of orchestral colour. The large size of the orchestra required means that we have been able to programme Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition as a companion piece – a work originally written for piano that has inspired many transcriptions. We play it tonight in Ravel’s stunning orchestral arrangement, the most popular and well-loved version in the world.” Sian Edwards


Conductor    Sian Edwards

Soloist         Alexandra Wood



Premiere sponsored by Milton Keynes Partnership

Conductor Sponsored by DRS Data Services ltd


Ticket prices

Single tickets:               £30, £28, £23, £19, £14, £10

info More Info